Consumer to consumer!

I’m no pro, and I am new to the community section of offerup.. I’ve used the app since it first came out, and as an alternative to craigslist...I fell in love. I don’t know how to voice my concern but recently I went to help my son buy his first car. I am really disappointed that OfferUp allows dealers and retailers to post here. I fell in love with this technology because it’s been peer to peer “for a while”. Does anybody know about changes taking place where offer up is now allowing retailers and dealers to advertise? I’m so confused. And I am disappointed to say the least. At one point six months ago my son got ripped off buying a computer here, that was an eye-opener. The poor kid saved six months of cutting lawns in the neighborhood. I just wish instead of focusing on revenue and astronomical growth that offerup would continue to just provide simple services as it has been. I guess all good things must come to an end. Can anyone advise me on how I can get the message across or somehow lobby offerup to keep it plainly and simply peer to peer. Isn’t this why we all came here?
2 REPLIES 2
Level 9
@Keokee I dont know if commercial postings here pay the fees but if they do than Im okay with that. My guess is that only revenue is (1) fund raised via VC (2) fee from shipping. But most likely money is from the VC investment. So unless OU show some kind of revenue their funding will be cut off and founders most likely lose the control. OU is not nonprofit organization and need to show some green to the investment firm that gave them the money.