Scam

SOLVED
Level 1
I’m new to Offer Up and was thrilled to sell some big items right away. I became suspicious when 2 people in a row wrote to say “my dad wants this - here’s his email. Send pictures.” I did that and gave my name, address and phone number (public info anyway?) so they could send a check. Luckily, I realized the problem at that point and stopped. Hope it doesn’t get worse for me....
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager

Welcome to the community, @wknowme! A good tip to follow would be to keep all conversations within the app. This way, you can keep all your personal information to yourself and communicate in a more secure way. 

What are you selling on OfferUp? We may have some great tips for you!

16 REPLIES 16
Community Manager

Welcome to the community, @wknowme! A good tip to follow would be to keep all conversations within the app. This way, you can keep all your personal information to yourself and communicate in a more secure way. 

What are you selling on OfferUp? We may have some great tips for you!

Level 1
There are quite a few (scanners) that post really nice cars for a very cheap price. They ask to contact them through email though. At first I thought they were just collecting email addresses but I think they are just looking for vulnerable people

Same exact thing happened to me.  I reread the emails and saw that things did not add up.  I reported the person, who did not have any verifiable information.  I was surprised at this because I thought Offer Up verified email addresses and other contact info.  Anyway, I sent the "dad" an email and blocked them.  I received the cashier's check and will be trashing that too

Had this happen today, sent my address and name before I realized. Now I feel stupid and afraid. Have you noticed anything suspicious since giving them your address?
Level 4