Creating Your Own Business Hours

OfferUp employee

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 4.05.22 PM.png

We love this post so much and wanted to highlight it by sharing it with everyone Smiley Happy The original post with the replies can be found here in the Small Business Secrets forum. Thank you so much for sharing your tips with us, @Jurissaj

"***This tip is for those of us who have a 9am-5pm job***

I have been selling on this platform for a few months now and I have found another great method to boost sales. I work in marketing for an online retailer and have a tight schedule after work. Sometimes meeting up after 5 pm could be a hassle or scary for some sellers.

I started taking items people were interested in to work with me. If a buyer is ready to meet, I give them my work address. They arrive and we do the exchange in the front lobby where there is always a receptionist and cameras. Once I started bringing items and was available during the daytime, I started seeing my sales increase.

The exchange can be a few seconds or minutes none the less it's not a bother to my employer. As sales increased I started disclaiming on all posts that I am only available weekdays during the hours of 8 am-430pm. This way I can have set business hours and not feel like it's a hassle to meet up as even buyers have commented they like the idea of meeting me at work. It's safer for both parties and all though rare if an item did not work as advertised they can always come back and meet me here.

This change has increased my availability and my sales, I hope this tip helps someone out there!" 

Check out our Small Business Secrets and Pro Tips forums for more tips and don't forget to share your own with the community! 

13 Comments
Level 9