How to be a 5 Star Seller!

Level 4
Hello OfferUp'ers!

I have been using this app for a few years now buying and selling products and have managed to maintain a perfect 5 star rating. Maintaining a high rating helps to instill customer confidence and separates you from the crowd. I want to share some pro-tips on how to maintain a 5 star rating and increase your sales.

1.) Post Lots of Pictures. People want to know what their buying and don't want to waste time and gas to come see it in person if they don't have to. Be sure to post the actual product and get several angles. If there's some wear and tear on your item be sure to include a picture of it.

2.) Be Transparent. This is a simple one that many people fail to do. Be honest about the condition, value, brand, age, etc,. If you are able to find the product online copy the specifications or details and/or include a link to the page. This helps educate buyers and make them feel comfortable with your product. An informed buyer is a happy buyer.

3.) Meet in Public. I cannot stress the importance of this one. I have never had a bad meet up experience but that's not to say that it can't or won't happen. Try to pick a location that is a halfway point for both of you and never meet after dark unless it's in a well lit location. If you must pick up from a sellers home make sure that you bring someone with you. Never go to a sellers home alone.

4.) Follow Up. If you want to secure your 5 star rating, go the extra mile by messaging the buyer shortly after the sale to make sure that they are satisfied, and to answer any questions they may have.

5.) Be Accountable. If you are selling your product as is then make sure to include that in the comment section and let the buyer know before the purchase. If not, be sure to take accountability if your product does not work as promised. Taking the time to make things right goes a long way. This will ensure that you maintain your reputation and your 5 star ratings.