Hi @Kaila! @Hotrod is right when you block a user, you are blocking them from communicating with you moving forward. They will still be able to see your posts though as they pop up. That's definitely a feature I can make a note of though for the team.
As for them using language that made you uncomfortable, please report them through the app so our Customer Care and Trust & Safety teams can look into their accounts. We do not want people who harass others on OfferUp at all. Let me know if you have any more questions about anything or if I can help in any way.
Please also offer us the ability to block a seller and all of their listings. OfferUp is filling up more and more with spam and duplicate posts.
If OfferUp would keep track of the numbers of how many people have blocked that user and then take appropriate actions against them.
It is the same on all the free selling apps. First, let's be clear...Anyone selling to make a profit, rather than selling to get rid of umwated goods is a business. Can you blame a business that is taking advantage of free marketing/advertising?
If you want to make efficient use of your time when searching for something, use eBay, Amazon, or some other selling platform that is not free.
“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results”. Einstein