Dishonest people

SOLVED
Highlighted
Level 1
Hello everyone! I’m new to offer up Smiley Happy I’ve actually bought a few things, only from the same person and had a good experience. On Sunday I sold my first item on here. The lady did a porch pick up. This is the way I’ve done for years through other buying/selling sites. I did feel a weird vibe with her but went ahead anyway. She asked me to take $25 for an item I listed for $35. We met in the middle at $27. To make a long story short she showed, left $20 under my mat, claimed her husband only had a $100 bill so she’d bring the rest later that day. Each day I’ve asked her to bring my money and she hasn’t. $7 seems like nothing, but it’s what’s owed to me and it’s principle. She has since stopped responding to my messages over the last 24 hours. What would you all do in this circumstance? Is this how offer up works? If so I don’t want to shop or sell on here anymore. Thank you for any suggestions Smiley Happy
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
I'm sorry to hear your buyer was dishonest..it does happen. It's happened to me quite a few times in my career as a seller. It's kind of like riding a bike..you will fall off a couple times when you first start to learn.

I did..lol. I got up, clenched my jaw & tried again. With each fall, I learned something new each time. Not all buyers are like the one you encountered. Ive had my fair share, as any seller has & will(I've had dozens). There is always be a rotten apple or two in a bushel of apples.

If you should change your mind & wish to try again here are some tips to make things smoother.

1.Meet in a public place, daylight hours. Close to an entrance, where plenty of people are within sight & hearing distance (I'm also a former self-defense teacher lol)
2.Offer no personal information - phone number, address, etc. Just because they may have a profile picture, facebook account etc - you still don't know them.