This is the same method that I use when selling duplicate items.
Have you noticed that when marking the ad sold any buyers that was watching or had ask about that item is notified that the item sold and is deleted from your inbox?
Now, before I mark sold I save the buyers information and send them the updated ad.
Is this making sense?
Have you found an easier way to keep the buyers updated?