How do you feel about delivery?

SOLVED
Level 4
Hello everybody. I'm new to OfferUp and this forum. I've sold countless things over my years via Craigslist, cars sites, eBay, etc. alway for fun, make room and make a little extra money.
My question is how do you feel about people asking for you to deliver the merchandise? I had no problem before in the past meeting up with people, but yesterday I was left with my first no show after I drove nearly an hour in traffic to "meet up." I understand it's a risk and some people want to play games. But this morning I received a message if I'd deliver to their home. I don't know how I feel about this. I'm not UPS or FedEx. I know I can make some money, but in the end I'll be losing gas money and time with the wife, again. Not to mention he/she might not even be there.
What do you think about delivery? Where do you draw the line on distance to meet up? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Helper
Hi @Dertysandals welcome to the forum 😊
As for delivering items I don’t do that at all, after selling and buying items for 4 years, I would not recommend doing that one being safety the other being no shows. I also meet people at public places like coffee shops or safe zone like a police station lobby, and no more than 5 minutes from my house. I also recommend using the new OfferUp profile tools that helps you decide if people are reliable.

View solution in original post

31 REPLIES 31
Community Helper
Hi @Dertysandals welcome to the forum 😊
As for delivering items I don’t do that at all, after selling and buying items for 4 years, I would not recommend doing that one being safety the other being no shows. I also meet people at public places like coffee shops or safe zone like a police station lobby, and no more than 5 minutes from my house. I also recommend using the new OfferUp profile tools that helps you decide if people are reliable.

View solution in original post

Level 9